Afros Attack!!!! African beauty – Yes! Indeed!

Moi

Hey African refugees,….well this is my new hairstyle πŸ™‚ Yes! indeed!, I finally chopped off the straight hair (only after letting it grow long enough though). I have not seen my hair this short in a very… very long time but I absolutely loooooove it!!!!!!

How do I get this?

1- Shampoo: twice a week with Pantene moisture renewal or whatever Fructis shampoo (all good stuff)

2- Conditioner and co-shampoo, every other day with Pantene moisture renewal (the best product for my hair)

3- Leave-in: haha… my leave-in conditioner is also my after shampoo conditioner (but when you think about it, a conditioner is a leave- in with a lesser amount of water, right? lol)

4- Seal: a drop of coconut oil in summer or carotte oil during winter (many other good oils, depending on what you like and how your hair absorbs it) I don’t recommend more than a drop.

5- Deep conditioning: once a week with Biofusion deep moisture masque

NEVER use thin combs for your curly hair, always use the wide ones. I use my fingers πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

And while we are at it, Afro pick combs are bad for curly hair!

Here is my hair story, after I moved to NYC, few years ago, I got into the habit of blow drying, flat ironing and occasionally straightening my roots. My hair was so straight, so silky and so beautiful, I could not get enough of it, so I kept it going πŸ™‚

Moi…before

But, last november, I started missing my curly hair really bad and so I decided to stop all the non-sense and get my beautiful curly hair back.

It was frustrating, to say the least, and……. I will pass the details until you ask me πŸ™‚

The texture of my hair is a tiny bit different now, than it was before I came to the state (water, different products,…and all the non-sense stuff) but I was told that hair changes every 7 years, true or not, I found comfort in it. lol… All that matters is that the curls are back and I can not wait to get the length back too.

Moi

Have you all noticed the resurgence of Afro styles over the past few decades???? Beautifully crazy, it is all over the place now. And, everyone is so creative with the hair dues. Love it!

Erykah Badu

Apparently the first ‘fros were seen back in 1860’ and the women wearing their hair as such were viewed as being the ideal of feminine beauty in poetry, novels and art….before it became the antithesis of that same ideal of feminine beauty. The rest (hot comb, relaxers, braids…) is history.

A revival of the Afro style came about nearly a century later. The 1960’s saw Afro styles becoming a signature under the civil right movement. It was the expression of oneself and synonymous to freedom.

Marsha Hunt

Jimi Hendrix

Grace Jones

In the years of 1990’s and 2000’s, we saw an increasing popularity of the Afro styles. No doubt, it’s in! From the big fashion houses such as Louis Vuitton to mainstream…the ‘fros’ attack has taken advantage over the general mindset of what are the acceptable ways of wearing your hair in the western world.

Nate James

Lauren Hill

Louis Vuitton RTW 2010

Beyonce Knowles

Maxwell

Lenny Kravitz

And finally the blogs and vlogs of 2008 and 09 taught us how to care about our hair and where to find the products we need, to look after the shaft, the scalp and the tips of our ‘fros.

Thank you for that all of you out there who got it started.

Paola

Jessi M’bengue

Jessica

Afropunk

Afrochic

To conclude, I hope you enjoyed those pictures I found online and some others I took myself.

Your natural hair is priceless, regardless of the type of texture you have, there are so many ways to care for it and to wear it beautifully, so… be creative African Refugees!

And just some food for your thoughts…did you know that the Afro hairstyle was banned in Tanzania in the 70′ and in Cuba in the 60’s? I am stunned!

18 thoughts on “Afros Attack!!!! African beauty – Yes! Indeed!

  1. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to

    keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,

    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than

    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  2. Hi I am so

    delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was
    searching on Aol for something

    else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank

    you for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also

    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much

    more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  3. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely
    do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you
    know, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very completely satisfied that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

    • Hey, Thank you for the comment. You know I just try to share what I think I would like to find out on the net. It is not easy to get the right information and so many of’em are very subjective, but Thanks to pictures that can help on see what the writing actually says. Come by again

  4. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nevertheless

    I’m experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable

    to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss problem? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkxxx

  5. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or
    advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

    • It really is a pleasure for me to share tips on hair. I don’t do it often enough but it is good to hear that some people out there are looking to take care of their real hair. I will do another post on hair. This one was very successful. Thanks!

What do you think?

